Seychelles and Gambia Sign the Paris Agreement

02 May 2016 | Adaptation

Two more countries have signed the Paris Climate Change Agreement, bringing the total number of signatories to 177 Parties (176 countries and the European Union) since the agreement was opened for signature at a high-level ceremony in New York on 22 April 2016. The two new signatories are the Seychelles, who signed on 25 April 2016, and Gambia who signed on 26 April 2016.

The number of States that have deposited their instruments of ratification is 16 as of today: Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Somalia, State of Palestine, Barbados, Belize, Fiji, Grenada, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Samoa, Tuvalu, Maldives, Saint Lucia, Mauritius and the Seychelles.

The Paris Agreement will enter into force on the thirtieth day after the date on which at least 55 Parties to the Convention accounting in total for at least an estimated 55 % of total global greenhouse gas emissions have deposited their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession with the Depositary in New York.


SOURCE: newsroom.unfccc.int