U.S. designates electric vehicle charging corridors

07 November 2016 | Mitigation

The federal government is designating 48 electric vehicle charging corridors along 25,000 miles of major U.S. highways as a way to cut greenhouse gas emissions and make it easier for drivers to switch to electric cars, the White House announced Thursday.

The plan calls for electric vehicle charging stations to be installed at least every 50 miles within the corridors and new government-approved signage to help drivers identify the locations of charging stations along the highway in 35 states.

The Federal Highway Administration said the goal is to accelerate the installation of electric and alternative-fuel vehicle charging infrastructure nationwide as a way to help drive down carbon dioxide emissions from motor vehicles — the nation’s second-largest single source of pollution causing climate change behind the electric power sector.

The corridors are part of the Obama administration’s plan to cut U.S. greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050.

The corridor designation follows a White House announcement in July of $4.5 billion in loan guarantees to companies building electric vehicle charging stations nationwide.

“Alternative fuels and electric vehicles will play an integral part in the future of America’s transportation system,” U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said in a statement. “We have a duty to help drivers identify routes that will help them refuel and recharge those vehicles and designating these corridors on our highways is a first step.”

The U.S. Department of Energy is studying how many charging stations need to be installed in the corridors and how to standardize them across the country, the White House said. The federal government is required to re-designate the electric vehicle charging corridors every five years, possibly expanding them.

Some of the major electric vehicle charging corridors include Interstate 5 from San Diego to the Canadian border; Interstates 25 and 70 through Colorado; Interstates 10, 20, 30, 35 and 45 through Texas; Interstate 80 from Nebraska to New York City; Interstate 95 from Washington, D.C., to Portland, Me.; and Interstates 75 and 85 through Georgia.

States without corridors include Arizona, New Mexico, Wyoming, Montana, North and South Dakota, Kentucky, Louisiana, Arkansas, Mississippi, Alabama and most of Florida.



Source: Climate Central